“I want to atte…

“I want to attempt a thing /like that/ and am frightened by these trifles,” he thought, with an odd smile. “Hm . . . yes, all is in a man’s hands and he lets it all slip from cowardice, that’s an axiom. It would be interesting to know what it is men are most afraid of. Taking a new step, uttering a new word is what they fear most. . . . But I am talking too much. It’s because I chatter that I do nothing. Or perhaps it is that I chatter because I do nothing. I’ve learned to chatter this last month, lying for days together in my den thinking . . . of Jack the Giant-killer. Why am I going there now? Am I capable of /that/? Is /that/ serious? It is not serious at all. It’s simply a fantasy to amuse myself; a plaything! Yes, maybe it is a plaything.”

Fyodor Dostoevsky: Crime and Punishment, Chapter 1, Page 1

Leave a comment

May 7, 2013 · 1:39 pm

Leave a Reply

